June 9, 2009

Cheeler's Top TV Shows: Part 1

Television was a common choice of entertainment in my household as a kid. But who didn't watch a lot of TV as a kid?

Anyway, I have a lot of good memories surrounding some of those TV shows. We used to sit around as a family on Sunday nights, eat popcorn, and watch a serial TV show. I know, how dare we watch TV on Sunday!!! (gasps). But honestly, we had nothing else to do. There were eight of us, and television may have been the only thing keeping us from tearing each other to pieces or disassembling our house bit by bit.

This one was a favorite for a long time on Sundays:



Ahhh, that makes me want to buy the seasons on DVD and rewatch them. I'm not kidding. Now when I say we watched these shows as a family, I don't mean we kinda watched it and some people came and went and the old man fell asleep, etc. This was SERIOUS BUSINESS TV TIME.

Here's another that we didn't watch regularly, but by virtue of our mom being an avid fan, I still probably ended up seeing almost every episode:



And from my early childhood, a classic favorite (sorry the quality is kinda poor):



The final TV Show for this installation is something a little more manly. I found this show primeiring on CBS at like 2AM one night when I couldn't (wouldn't) go to sleep as a teenager. It was probably Sunday . . . those Sunday naps ruined me Sunday Night.



Highlander was cool. BOOSH!

More to come soon. Post up comments about some of your nostalgic favorites, if you have any! bwahahahaha.

4 comments:

the Allers said...

My family would watch Simpsons and X-Files on Sunday evenings. So I guess we're going straight to hell....

Mikey said...

Wow- those were some bad shows. We watched Lois and Clark though as a family. I actually used to follow Highlander with my Mom of all people... I think I still have the intro memorized. Question: if you suspect you are an immortal, should you kill yourself in your prime so that you stay that way forever?

Habs said...

This made me happy inside. I may have to post something about THIS post on my blog!

Kim-may said...

So when we were down in SLC last, Highlander came up and immediately Alicia and Cheech broke into singing together, " Here we are! Born to be kings with the princes of the universeeeeeeeeeee!"
ANyhow, I wish I could have taken a pic of Lees face, it was half surprised half disgusted. My favorite.

My favorite was coming home and watching the Soaps with Mom. Oh Stefano Demira